Follow me to JFK AirTrain and the New World Trade Center!

Hey everyone,

I have been busy this past week. Everything I have been working on has been approved and was used in many different ways. Here is what I have been promising everyone: What I actually work on at my internship at The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey. I have been working on three different projects lately and will bring more to the blog later. The following projects are ones that got special attention.

1. The first project that I was working on was a tutorial on how to get to the JFK AirTrain from the Long Island Railroad, specifically from the Jamaica station. I was approached with this project to give it an up-beat amateur first hand look at the trip. I was given free will at editing this project. As an editor, this was extremely rewarding. The department came up to me with an idea, a story, and the information they wanted to get across. It was my job to blend all that together. Click the link below to check it out!

Have a look

2. For my second project, I became the director using a remote production room to record the public board meetings.  There are nine meetings in one day from 9 am till almost 3 pm. It is a very long day, but I was able to take the information I learned at Wilkes World (being the director) and use it to “cut” or switch camera shots inside the meetings that were taking place in a totally different room in the building. These meetings are public knowledge and are streamed live over the Port Authorities website.

You can check out my work here:

3. My third video is one that I will not get done while I am an intern. It is an on-going project of the reconstruction of the World Trade Center. I started working on this project on my first day at my internship. My job is to take all the footage of the reconstruction and condense all the footage into a time lapse version. A time lapse is a video shot at a subject continuously over time and the World Trade Center is the subject. Upon editing,  you can notice the building’s support being build, cement being poured, steel moved into place and construction progressing. At the final board meeting of the day, my video was highlighted to show progress of the WTC.

You can find this short little snip of my time lapse as well as other major developments of the new WTC in the video entitled : Board Meeting 2/25/10 1:00pm. While watching the meeting my video gets a mini introduction before being introduced at 12 minutes and 30 seconds.

Check it out

It has been a pretty crazy week here, but this is a complete inside look at the work I am doing. Some of the projects I’m working on are VERY interesting and I hope to bring you more as my internship progresses.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment